surround

I don’t linger on during conversations anymore

I try not to look at your pictures too

Your voice is the background noise that hums softly

Your shoes lie upturned and unpolished

I smell your crisp white shirts hanging in the closet only once a week

And people don’t ask me why I am wearing your perfume either now

Your letters lie in a small box with a little lock on it

The things that made you mine surround me

Is that why you left them behind, and took yourself away.

Here is me reciting the same https://soundcloud.com/tanzila/surround

2 thoughts on “surround

Leave a Reply

