seconds of life

I watch the clock as the seconds tick by
It’s a sign of time passing me by
The tick tock sound makes me weak with dull nervousness
And the sound of my heartbeat beats a tattoo
As every tick goes, I know I get closer to you
As every tock goes, I fear I lose sight of you
I oscillate between hope and dread
Dreaming of warm togetherness or lonely nights in my bed
I latch onto your words and the way you breathe
It’s my strength, my life, my only retreat
Every step bridges the distance between
To you or your mirage only time will reveal
Yes the same time that sets the day and nights in rotation
And we, just watch it put our destinies in motion
As the seconds go tick tock, tick tock.

Leave a Reply

